Book Trilogies

Last year, I read 4 book trilogies. It’s like I am obsessed (notice how that’s in present tense?). And I guess it’s because trilogies give me time with the characters. Time to see them grow and time to learn to love them. Of course the problem is when you get too attached to some characters and then the trilogy ends and you have no idea what to do with your life (!). But I digress.

On this post, I will only review 3  of those trilogies. This is because I wanna review the 4th trilogy alongside its movies.

Here we go!

 

#1: Matched trilogy

OK, I’ll confess it: I’m a sucker for a dystopian novel (or trilogy). So, when I saw this new trilogy by Ally Condie getting good reviews, I couldn’t resist.

Matched trilogyThis is a story about a “perfect” society where no citizen lacks anything and everything runs smoothly. And one of the most important elements of this society is its Matching ceremony. When you turn 17, you get matched to a person who is your perfect mate. And when Cassia gets matched with her best friend Xander, things seem more perfect than ever. But when a microcard that is supposed to show Xander’s information shows Cassia someone else’s face, she can’t help but be curious.

As you can probably guess, a love triangle ensues and the whole thing wrecks havoc. But I have to say, I really enjoyed Cassia’s journey throughout the books. She starts out as a shallow character and as the story progresses, she acquires more depth and strength. And the backstory for the Society and the revolution that (as you probably guessed) came afterwards, was very interesting to read. I especially liked its references to art and the things people can create if they let their imaginations run wild.

If you like this new genre of dystopian romance, this is the trilogy for you.

 

#2: Sign of Seven trilogy

Sign of seven trilogyThis Nora Roberts supernatural trilogy is about 3 childhood friends, the 3 women that change their lives and the supernatural entity that brings them all together.

Every 7 years, a supernatural force comes to the small town of Hawkins Hollow and wrecks havoc. And it all started with just 3 boys in the woods performing a bonding ritual during their 10th birthday. 21 years later, 3 women will come into their lives and as their foe prepares for a final battle, do these 6 people have what it takes to end it once and for all?

I found this trilogy quite absorbing. Getting to discover the back story for everything that happens with this enemy and seeing how they all come together to save their town was really interesting. And I enjoyed it immensely.

I fully recommend it.

 

#3: The Maze Runner trilogy

Maze Runner trilogyThis last trilogy by James Dashner is about a dystopian future as well.

The first book is about a boy named Thomas and how he arrives at a place full of boys called The Glade. The Glade is surrounded by a maze, and everyday, runners go into the maze and try to find a way out. As the Gladers, Thomas and a girl named Theresa find their way out, they discover that getting out of the maze was only the first of their trials. And as the trilogy continues, they discover that the world outside the Glade may not be as good as they had once hoped it would be.

As you can see from the picture, this is technically not a trilogy as there are 4 books. The Kill Order is in fact a prequel to the other 3 books and even has characters that are completely different from the ones in the other books. So in a way, it IS a trilogy. It just also has a prequel.

While the premise for these books is very interesting, I found myself wishing for the books to just be over. It took me a really long time to finish the prequel and it just left me feeling like the entire trilogy wasn’t even worth it. Now, I’m not saying it was a waste of time. Even bad books are worth reading. But there’s just something about these books that makes me feel unfulfilled and makes me unable to recommend them. So, read them at your own risk.

P.S.: The Maze Runner is set to have a film adaptation, which will be released later this year.

 

Well, that’s it for now!

This entry was posted in Book reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment